Moderator
Moderator
January
Moderator
May
Moderator
February
Moderator
June
Moderator
March
Moderator
July
Moderator
April
Moderator
September
Moderator
October
Moderator
November
Moderator
December
Moderator
November
Suspense Central Selections for
2017

*2017 selections for Suspense Central are
listed below by month.  If you have difficulty
seeing a title and/or author, all selections are
listed on our Yahoo site and our meetup site.
Recaps, comments
The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen Flynn
Monday, November 13, 2017 - 8p
Panera, 770 Rt. 17 North, Paramus, NJ

This group meets on the second Monday of each month to discuss a specific mystery,
suspense or intrigue novel. Join Moderator Aurelia Long as we discuss the month's featured
selection.

*The full 2017 line-up of titles can be found below, after the recaps/comments.

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the
legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the
future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.
August
The Stranger by Harlen Coben
9/11/17 recap

Chris H
Our theme of The Mysterious Stranger was well represented by our selection of The Stranger by Harlan
Coben. Adam Price, one of the main characters,  is approached by a stranger who tells Adam his wife
has been lying to him. This sets off a series of events which are truly mind boggling. 56 chapters in 386
pages make the chapters short and the book a real page turner. There are several small substories,
multiple characters, but it all works without boggling the reader down.  Some attendees had read quite
a few books by the author, others this was their first experience with his writing. The general
consensus was, although there were a lot of things happening the novel, Coben did a good job of tying
everything together. An exciting story with a high spirited discussion.
A Familiar Tail by Delia James
1
0/9/17 recap

Chris H
Our theme of magic, spells and sorcery was well represented by A Familiar Tail by Delia James.
Annabelle Amelia Blessingsound Britton comes to Portsmouth to visit her friend Martine Devereux.
Martine is the chef at the Pale Ale Inn. But a weekend trip turns into a much longer stay as Annabelle
realizes her family has many more ties to the town than she knew. Annabelle Amelia Blessingsound
Britton meets a smoky gray cat named Alistair while visiting Portsmouth. Alistair has a secret. Annabelle
finds covens of witches as well as a murder mystery. Some trip! I thought this was going to be a YA
book, or even younger. Instead I found an extremely well written book with very well drawn
characters. My grade was 9 or A. Attendees were a little less enthusiastic but still gave it B's. It was the
first of three novels involving Annabelle and Alistair. Fun discussion.